Atlanta is the capital and the largest city in Georgia. It covers an area of about 8,480.27 square miles, making it the 41st largest city proper and the ninth largest metropolitan area in the US. There are about 140 municipalities and 28 counties in the city. The river of Chattahoochee is one of the natural features of the city, and bounds the northwest portion of Atlanta, flowing through a valley. On the eastern portion of the metropolitan area, an 825-foot tall mountain, Stone Mountain, rises above the area.

Find more in Atlanta Travel Guide